Frog!!

Photos taken:
2022/06/08

I almost stepped on this little frog!!

I normally find frogs all over the garden, hiding behind rocks and plants, but this one was just sun-bathing in the middle of the path. If I hadn't already been looking down at the ground for bugs I might have hurt her.

Photo of a frog sitting on wooden decking covered in dry grass. The frog is covered in small bumps and is a vivid mixture of lighter and darker greens. She has golden eyes, a round dark patch on her cheeks, and has banded stripes on her legs.

She was very polite about me almost crushing her tho! Not only did this frog keep extremely still, she also allowed me to get my camera very close without hopping away, so I managed to get these super clear photos!

I love how stripy she is, particularly on her legs, it's such a pretty mix of light and dark greens.

In this second photo, on the frog's back there is patch of lighter, almost transparent coloured skin. I wonder if she shed her skin recently and some of it just hadn't gotten colour back yet? I don't know enough about frogs to know for sure but I hope that's the case and not that she got injured somehow.

Photo of the same frog from a different angle. The sun had come out when I took this photo so most of her body is sitting in direct sunlight with some shadows covering her head and eyes. A few small, translucent grey patches of skin can be seen on her back.

And that's all for now! I haven't seen this frog again since taking this photo, but I've found others in the meantime, so it'd be nice to document all the frogs living in my garden at some point. I'll have to give names to all of them.

This one can be called Nena, after the toki pona word for something that is bumpy.